Anderson Baptist Church is just as proud of our History as the present ministry we provide. This church, organized in 1844, has a rich heritage of the early settlers of our great state of Texas. Great evangelical preachers such as; Z.N. Morrell, J.W.D. Creath, and George W. Baines, were among the early pastors. We still worship today in the beautiful rock sanctuary that was built in 1855.
Anderson Baptist Church is on the National Register of Historic Places and a recorded Texas Historical Landmark. Early in 1844, a small group of Baptist met in a log schoolhouse four miles northwest of Anderson and established a monthly preaching appointment. Seven members organized the Antioch Baptist Church on November 11, 1844. In 1848, messengers from thirty four of the seventy three churches in the state assembled at the church for the first State Baptist Convention. In 1852, Antioch Baptist Church’s name was changed to Anderson Baptist Church.
In 1855, the stone building was erected that is still to this day worshipped in every Sunday. The walls are made of native stone dug from the hills surrounding Anderson. George W. Baines, great grandfather to U.S. President Lyndon Baines Johnson, served this church from 1852-1861. The church burned in 1955, leaving only the stone walls. It was then rebuilt and restored. Further restoration on the stone walls was completed in 2003. A complete renovation of the structure and interior was completed in July of 2011.